Updated: Sep 13, 2019
Co-Written by Michael Aberle of MyCEcourse
The California Fair Employment and Housing Act makes specific employment practices unlawful, including the harassment of an employee directly by the employer or indirectly by agents of the employer with the employer’s knowledge. With the passage of California SB 1343 (amendment to AB 1825), approximately 422,901 small businesses that employ between 5-100 employees will be required to provide workplace sexual harassment and discrimination training for all employees before January 1st, 2021.
Many small businesses do not have access and or the resources to implement and manage these new state employment requirements.
What You Need to Know About the Law
The new law dictates that managers and supervisors must now undergo a two-hour long training while nonsupervisory workers are required to undergo a one-hour training.
New hires are expected to take the training within six months of their first day. If you have a temporary worker who will be with your company for less than six months, you will need to provide training within 30 days, or 100 hours worked, from their start date, whichever comes first.
Starting January 1, 2019 employees must take this training every two years.
If your team has taken training in the past, the new law requires they take the newest curriculum in the 2019 calendar year for you to stay compliant - which means you have a year to get this done.
How to Get Started
Human Resources matters can be time consuming because of all the details involved. In cases like these, it may be best to outsource the materials and training to a trusted partner or another local business (maybe with a trip to our membership directory).
Here at the Chamber, we are gearing up to provide a solution in partnership with myCEcourse to make compliance more accessible with an online solution that is affordable and high quality.
As California continues to change state requirements, we aim to provide something new, relevant, and affordable. With increased costs for training and compliance programs, small businesses are negatively affected. As always, we want to enable small businesses to continue to work in their business while we provide solutions to make it simpler and more affordable to work on their business.
Therefore, we have decided to:
Charge per-company rather than the old standard of per-person pricing, drastically reducing the cost of training and accounting records
Develop a company training package that includes two years of access
Provide an online training that is accessible on mobile devices
Provide member exclusive pricing
Get started now by heading over to calasianhr.com or by giving our office a call at 916.446.7883!